Arctic Council Ministerial meeting

Tomorrow, May 11, the United States will host the 10th Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting in Fairbanks, Alaska. Minister-level representatives from the eight Arctic States will convene to review and approve work completed under the two-year U.S. Chairmanship to improve sustainable development and environmental protection in the Arctic. The Arctic States will be joined by delegations from the Council's indigenous Permanent Participant organizations and observers. At the conclusion of the meeting, the U.S. will transfer the Chairmanship of the Arctic Council to Finland.
The third binding agreement negotiated under the auspices of the Arctic Council, the “Agreement on Enhancing International Arctic Scientific Cooperation” will be signed by Ministers of the Arctic States. The agreement addresses such issues as: entry and exit of persons, equipment, and material; access to research infrastructure and facilities; access to research areas; and education, career development, and training opportunities for students and early-career scientists.

A special briefing on on the Arctic Council Ministerial by Deputy Assistant Secretary David A. Balton, Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs is available at

More information available at or