Arctic Portal logo

The Arctic Gateway

Arctic Council Member and Observer States

The Arctic Council is the leading intergovernmental forum promoting cooperation, coordination and interaction among the Arctic States, Arctic indigenous communities and other Arctic inhabitants on common Arctic issues, in particular on issues of sustainable development and environmental protection in the Arctic.

The map that Arctic Portal has now updated portrays the Arctic Council´s member states and the permanent participants. It also includes information regarding the observers states, the working groups and the intergovernmental, inter-parliamentary and non-governmental organizations that have approved observers status.

Iceland is holding the Chairmanship of the Arctic Council from 2019-2021. The theme of the program for the Icelandic Chairmanship reflects Iceland´s commitment to the the principle of sustainable development and refers to the necessity of close cooperation between the states and peoples of the region and beyond. With sustainable development as an overarching theme, Iceland will highlight four priorities: The Arctic Marine Environment, Climate and Green Energy Solutions, People and Communities of the Arctic, and a Stronger Arctic Council.

The copyright of the map is owned by Arctic Portal but can be used with the mentioning of the Arctic Portal. If you need further information please contact us.