Lighthouse in Norway (Photo:Karin Beate Nøsterud, NN – RELEASE BY NSF

The Arctic Section in the Division of Polar Programs, Geosciences Directorate of the National Science Foundation (NSF) announces staffing changes for the Arctic Observing Network program. Dr. Erica Key completed her three-year appointment as the AON Program Director on April 28, 2015. We thank her for her service. Dr. William Ambrose will begin service as new Program Director of the Arctic Observing Network program in the Arctic Sciences (ARC) section on 15 June 2015. Dr. Ambrose will be joining NSF from Bates College, Maine where he holds an appointment as Professor of Biology and has served as Chairman of the Department of Biology. Dr. Ambrose is a long time Arctic scientist with an extensive research career in Arctic benthic ecology and Arctic environmental change. He is experienced in international collaborative research, including serving as a Fulbright Professor at the University of Oslo and Visiting Professor at the University of Tromso.
We welcome Dr. Ambrose to NSF and look forward to working with him to advance the frontiers of Arctic knowledge through the critical observations needed to detect and understand environmental change in Arctic systems.