Mural in Iqaluit, Nunavut by Jonathan Cruz. Photo by Flickr user Sugared Glass. Creative Commons BY license.The next Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting will take place in Iqaluit, Nunavut, Canada on 24-25 April 2015.

The announcement was made on 12 September 2014 by the Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Canada's Minister for the Arctic Council and current Arctic Council Chair.

The meeting will bring together ministers of the Arctic states and high-level representatives of the Indigenous Permanent Participant organizations to set the Council's objectives for the coming two years and highlight achievements during Canada's 2013-2015 chairmanship of the Council.

Arctic Council Ministerial Meetings takes place every two years, and mark the hand-over of the chairmanship of the Arctic Council. The 2015 Ministerial Meeting will mark the conclusion of Canada's chairmanship (2013-2015) and the beginning of the United States' chairmanship (2015-2017).

The choice of Iqaluit has historical significance, as the inaugural Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting (1998) also took place in Iqaluit.

The meeting will be preceded by an event in Ottawa on 23 April to showcase the Council's accomplishments during Canada's chairmanship.