Minister Leona AglukkaqThe first Senior Arctic Officials (SAO) meeting of the Canadian Chairmanship was held in Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada, 22 – 23 October.

In May 2013, Canada assumed the two – year Chairmanship of the Arctic Council from Sweden. The Honorable Leona Aglukkaq, an Inuk from Nunavut, is Canada´s Minister for the Arctic Council and Chair of the Council during Canada´s Chairmanship.

Minister Aglukkaq delivered remarks at the first executive meeting of SAO. For more information, please read the full media advisory on the website Department of Foreign Affairs Canada.

High resolution photos from the Whitehorse Senior Arctic Officials' and Permanent Participants' meeting held 21-23 October can be found in the Arctic Council Flickr gallery.

These photos are available for use through the Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derives Creative Commons license. Please credit the Arctic Council Secretariat.