Arctic Portal logo

The Arctic Gateway

When: Dec. 6, 2021, 8:00am – 10:00am ET

President Biden will convene a Summit for Democracy on December 9–10 to coalesce goals and actions into a “common agenda” for the renewal of democracy.

As part of the Summit, on behalf of the governments of the United States, Germany, and The Netherlands, the Global Parliament of Mayors, and the German Marshall Fund, we invite you to join the Woodrow Wilson Center on December 6 for a conversation about democratic innovation with mayors from the U.S. and around the world.

This diverse group of mayors are leading action for global policy development and change around the most pressing issues facing democracy today, including corruption, authoritarianism, and social exclusion, as well as climate change, COVID-19, and poverty. The event is part of a larger partnership with additional governments and organizations that are actively engaging democratic innovations and networks of mayors to amplify impact on democratic renewal.




  • Ambassador Mark Green, President, CEO, and Director, Wilson Center

Moderator and Introductions

  • Jonathan Capehart, Editorial Board & Opinion Writer, Washington Post, and MSNBC Anchor, “The Sunday Show with Jonathan Capehart”

Opening Remarks

  • Julie Chávez Rodriguez, Director, Office of Intergovernmental Affairs, The White House
  • Birgitta Tazelaar, Deputy Director-General for International Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, The Netherlands
  • Irmgard Maria Fellner, Director for Cultural Relations Policy and Deputy Director-General for Culture and Communication, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Federal Government of Germany

Strengthening Democracy and Defending Against Authoritarianism

  • Rafał Trzaskowski, Mayor of Warsaw, Poland
  • Allison Gilliland, Mayor of Dublin, Ireland
  • Mohammad Ramdhan Pomanto, Mayor of Makassar, Indonesia
  • Vi Lyles, Mayor of Charlotte, North Carolina, United States

Combating Corruption, Providing Transparency and Accountability

  • Peter Kurz, Mayor of Mannheim, Germany
  • Joy Belmonte, Mayor of Quezon City, Philippines
  • Francisco Huaman, Mayor of Lalaquiz, Peru
  • Mwenda-Bantu Munongo, Mayor of Bayeke, Democratic Republic of Congo

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in Human Rights

  • John Giles, Mayor of Mesa, Arizona, United States
  • Ahmed Aboutaleb, Mayor of Rotterdam, The Netherlands
  • Christopher Pappas, Mayor of uMngeni Municipality, South Africa

Commitment Challenge: Delivering Democracy Daily in the Year of Action

  • Moderated by Nina Hachigian, Deputy Mayor of International Affairs, Los Angeles, United States