Arctic Yearbook Foundation signed

In a quest to financially secure the sustainability of the ambitious undertaking of publishing the Arctic Yearbook key partners have agreed to establish Arctic Yearbook Foundation. The foundation is being registered according to Icelandic Act no. 119/2019 on not-for-profit organizations operating across borders.

The board of the new Foundation signed the important founding articles during an event to celebrate the publication of the first special issue, Arctic Pandemics: Covid-19 and other pandemic experiences and lessons learned, hosted by Jeannette Menzies, the ambassador of Canada to Iceland on Friday, October 20th. 2023, in relation to the Arctic Circle Assembly.

The Arctic Yearbook is an international and peer-reviewed volume which focuses on issues of regional governance, development, environmental politics, circumpolar relations, geopolitics and security, all broadly defined. It is an open access, online publication. It has been published annually since 2012. All activities to date have been through in-kind contribution.

The Arctic Yearbook is proudly supported and hosted by the Arctic Portal.

About The Arctic Yearbook

The Arctic Yearbook is the outcome of the Thematic Network (TN) on Geopolitics and Security of the University of the Arctic, the publisher. The TN also organizes the annual Calotte Academy.

The Arctic Yearbook seeks to be the preeminent repository of critical analysis on the Arctic region, with a mandate to inform interested readers (students, scholars & scientists, other experts, policy-makers, planners, business people) about the state of Arctic politics, governance and security, as well as related (local, regional, global) new and emerging phenomena, themes and trends. It is an international and interdisciplinary double-blind peer-reviewed publication, published online at [] to ensure wide distribution and accessibility to a variety of stakeholders and observers.

Arctic Yearbook material is obtained through a combination of an open call for papers (peer-reviewed scholarly articles) and invited contributions (briefing notes, commentaries). There are no author fees.

The Arctic Yearbook is open access. Readers may download, distribute, photocopy, cite or excerpt this Arctic Yearbook material, provided that it is properly and fully credited. We do not, however, allow commercial use or the making of derivatives without the written consent of the editorial team.


Lassi Heininen, University of Lapland

Managing Editors:

Heather Exner-Pirot, Macdonald Laurier Institute

Justin Barnes, Balsillie School of International Affairs

Communications Assistant:

Natacha Santos

Editorial Board:

Chair: Dr. Alexander Pelyasov (Lomonosov Moscow State University, Institute of Regional Consultation, Russian Academy of Sciences)
Dr. Lawson W. Brigham (Global Fellow, Wilson Center Polar Institute; Research Faculty, University of Alaska Fairbanks)
Dr. Daria Burnasheva (Senior Lecture at Arctic State Institute of Culture and Arts, Sakha Republic)
Dr. Miya Christensen (Professor at University of Stockholm, Sweden)
Dr. Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson (Former President of the Republic of Iceland, Chair of the Arctic Circle Assembly)
Halldór Jóhannsson (Executive Director, Arctic Portal, Iceland)
Dr. Kirsi Latola (Research Coordinator, UArctic Vice-President Networks, Finland)
James Ross (Gwich'in Leader, Northwest Territories, Canada)

For more information on contributing to the Arctic Yearbook, or participating in the UArctic TN on Geopolitics and Security, contact the Editor, Lassi Heininen.

Related news

Arctic Yearbook Launches Special Issue on Arctic Pandemics


The tags below provide an opportunity to view previously posted related news within the selected category


Arctic - 2024 © All rights reserved.

When quoting, reusing or copying any material on the or any of its sub-sites including but not limiting to: information, news, articles, data, maps or images, in part or in full, a citation stating the origin and a hyperlink to is required.