Arctic Portal logo

Arctic Council Member and Observer States

One of the organization that has frequently been mentioned in regards to the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize is the Arctic Council. The Council has been nominated before with a formal nomination letter written by a group of international academics in January 2018. The winner of the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize will be announced in Oslo on 11 October.

The Arctic Council was established in Canada with the Ottawa Declaration in 1996 with the aim to enhance cooperation in the North or to “provide a means for promoting cooperation, coordination and interaction among the Arctic States, with the involvement of the Arctic Indigenous communities and other Arctic inhabitants on common Arctic issues, in particular issues of sustainable development and environmental protection in the Arctic“.

For the year 2019, 301 candidates are nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize, 223 individuals and 78 organizations.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee is responsible for selecting the Nobel Peace Prize Laureates and has been since it was first awarded in 1901. The Committee is composed of five members that are appointed by the Norwegian Parliament (Storting).

Sources: the Nobel Prize

The Arctic Council is made up of the eight Arctic Countries, Iceland, Norway, Denmark, Sweden, Finland, USA, Canada and Russia, 6 permanent participants of the Indigenous people of the Arctic and 39 observer states and international organizations, as can be observed in detail in the Arctic Portal produced map.

For further information on the Arctic Council : Arctic Portal