(Photo: Magnus Froderberg/norden.org) Nordic Council's five prizes awarded at Gala celebration in Oslo.Yesterday, 31st of October, for the first time all Nordic Council´s 5 prizes were announced and presented together at the Nordic Council Prize Gala.

"Profeterne i Evighedsfjorden" by Kim Leine won the Literature Prize, "The Hunt " by Thomas Vinterberg won the Film Prize, the violinist Pekka Kuusisto won the Music Prize, "Karikko" by Seita Vuorela and Jani Ikonen (ill.) won the Children and Young People's Literature Prize, and Selina Juul from the Movement Stop Wasting Food won the Environment Prize.

The event has been taking place annually. The Nordic Council prizes are each worth DKK 350,000 and were awarded in conjunction with the Nordic Council's Session in Oslo.

The Nordic Council is the official inter-parliamentary body in the Nordic Region. The Nordic Council was formed in 1952. The Council has 87 elected members from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden as well as from the Faroe Islands, Greenland and Åland.

Click here for more information about the Nordic Council Prize Gala.