Icebergs (Photo by: Getty Images) Ecologic Institute and the Arctic Institute would like to invite you to an Arctic webinar on "100 Days In: COP21 and the Arctic’s Future - An Era of Energy Transition" on 21 March 2016.

To accommodate a diverse circumpolar viewership the webinar takes place at 8:00 AM (Alaska and PST) / 12:00 PM (EDT) / 5:00 PM (CET). We are planning a 90 minute session with three 15 minute presentations and ample time for Q&A afterwards.

Please register for the event here

100 days after the successful negotiation of a global climate agreement in Paris, the Arctic is facing some of the warmest winter temperatures on record. As communities face threats to personal safety, livelihood, and culture, one pressing question remains: what effect has and will the COP21 agreement have on the four million people that call the Arctic home?

The COP21 agreement and volatile oil markets have created a path for renewable technology innovation to thrive in the high north, simultaneously providing affordable energy and economic diversification.

This webinar brings together three experts in conversation about the Arctic at COP21, its effects on the region today, and the prospects for renewable energy for both mitigation and adaptation. Arctic policymakers and residents are facing a unique opportunity to reinvent circumpolar energy development for a sustainable future.

Experts:
Julia Gourley, US Senior Arctic Official, Department of State
Sébastien Duyck, Visiting Researcher Arctic Centre, University of Lapland
Renewable Energy Alaska Project

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.